Break the Rules Day - Wednesday 26th May 2021
Home Page

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Foundation Stage


In the Foundation Stage learning is organised into seven areas (3 prime areas and 4 specific areas):

Prime 1 - Personal, social and emotional development
Prime 2 – Communication and language
Prime 3 - Physical development
Specific 1 - Literacy
Specific 2 - Mathematics
Specific 3 - Understanding of the world
Specific 4 – Expressive arts and design


Our youngest children work towards ‘Early Learning Goals‛ in each of these areas. They are assessed against these goals by the teacher on entry and again at the end of their first year in school and the parents and children are involved throughout the year in setting appropriate targets to ensure their continued progress. Year R children work on many activities through the day, some adult directed, some independent. They have a daily Literacy lesson and Mathematics lesson to prepare them for the next stage. Much of the learning takes place outside.

3 3 9 8 5 Visitors
  • Search
  • Translate